Wednesday, August 12, 2020


Meade District Court

Meade County is part of the 16th Judicial District of Kansas

Keith Whitney was elected to a four-year term
as District Magistrate Judge in November 2004.
He is currently serving his third term.

Party Affiliation: Republican

Term: The District Judge is elected in November
of the Presidential Election years for a term of four
years. There are no term limits for this position.



Decinda Heinz
Clerk of the District Court



Meade District Court
PO Box 623
Meade, KS  67864-0623
Fax: (620) 873-8759
Phone (620) 873-8750

Office Hours: 8:00 AM - Noon, 1:00 - 5:00 PM

District Courts are created by the Constitution. They are the record and trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits, probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorships, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. District courts also have appellate jurisdiction over municipal courts. Appeals may be taken from the district courts to the Court of Appeals, or to the Supreme Court.

Use the link below to access the Kansas Courts web site. Here you will find:

  • Jury Duty Information
  • Marriage License Information
  • Small Claims Information
  • Local Court Rules
  • Downloadable Forms and more

Link: Kasas Judicial Branch