Wednesday, August 12, 2020




 Meade County





Michelle Benear was elected to a four-year term as County Treasurer in November 2004.  She is currently serving her second term in office.

Party Affiliation: Republican



Sadie Klotz

Ruth Miller


Amie Duesing



Contact Information:


PO Box 670

Meade, KS 67864-0670

Fax: 620-873-8744

Phone: 620-873-8740


Office Hours:

8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Open through the noon hour)

The county Treasurer's Office serves as the conduit for the County's financial transactions.  In addition to being the County's Financial Officer, the Treasurer's Office provides many services and information on property taxes, motor vehicle registration, vehicle title changes and driver's license renewals.  The County Treasurer is an elected official and serves a four year term.

The Treasurer's Office is responsible for the collection of property tax on real estate and personal property taxes.  During the year, the treasurer is required to disburse collected tax money to the various taxing units (city, school districts, etc.) for their use.

This office also serves as an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicle and renewing driver's licenses.


Governmental Ethics Commission

Kansas Assn. of Counties